Members of the PGD Community Relations and Digital Media Streams, sets 1 and 2, have organised an event to honour primary school teachers. The event, which was tagged “Teachers’ Reward First on Earth,” took place in the Ifako Ijaiye area of Lagos State as one of the activities to mark the UNESCO World Teachers Day. It was organised in conjunction with the Local Education Authority and the Lagos State Universal Basic Education Board.

According to the promoter of the activity, Ms. Oladunni Afolabi (PGD CR1), the motivation for the project arose from the charge given to those of the PGD during the course of their programme. She emphasised that the primary objective of the activity was to give special recognition to public primary school teachers in local communities, a group that rarely receives credit for the work it carries out. She noted that these teachers contribute a lot to the lives of growing children and sometimes do so in the most uncomfortable circumstances.

Awards were handed out in various categories such as Best Teacher (in English, Mathematics, Computer Science, and Early Childhood Education), Best Head Teacher, and Most Committed Teacher in the Special School Centres for Physically Challenged. The awards were accompanied with gifts sponsored by Golden Penny Flour Mills of Nigeria, UAC Foods and PZ Cussons. Additional support came from the Dean’s Office of the School of Media and Communication and This Day Newspapers.


The event featured the comedian, Seyi Law, as well as Roland Ricketts and Omolayo, runners up in Project Fame 2013. Roland composed a teachers’ anthem for the participants. There was also a dance routine performed by some primary school pupils.

Over 800 teachers from 30 public schools in Ifako Ijaiye were present at the event. Also present were the Chairman of the Lagos State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB), Mrs. Dawodu, and a representative of the Lagos State Commissioner for Education as well as law makers representing the local community. Members of the PGD Community Relations and Digital Media streams (sets 1 and 2) were represented by Oladunni Afolabi, Sam Igbedion, Nkechi Njemanze , Bola Audu, Fred Oriunuebho and Reverend James Odedeyi.